Adagios of Hope and Peace: Ten Settings for Organ

by Franklin D. Ashdown (Composer)

Availability: If in stock, usually ships within 24 hours.

Season/Occasion: Funeral
Voicing: Organ
Pages: 48
ISBN: 9781506413587
Dimensions: 9 x 12
Difficulty: Medium
Release Date: Wednesday, June 1, 2016

Description Composer Commentary
The “adagio” has emerged over the centuries as a musical genre characterized by slow tempo, serene lyricism, and soaring melody. My new collection, Adagios of Hope and Peace: Ten Settings for Organ, includes 8 hymn-based compositions plus 2 free-style works which evoke feelings of tranquility and quiet assurance. These pieces are particularly designed for funeral and memorial services, but may be equally useful as preludes and offertories.